Little Way of the Family


A Lenten Penance for Anger
February 18, 2013, 7:42 pm
Filed under: Daily Life, Lent, Sin | Tags: , ,

One good piece of advice I have received regarding lenten penances (“giving something up”) is to construct your penance around your most troublesome fault. For instance, I have a problem with gluttony. Put a box of gluten-free (a sad necessity for me) cookies in front of me, and I won’t realize how much I have eaten until the box is gone. To try to help control that, I have given up cookies, cakes and candies for Lent.

A person I know wants to get a better handle on his anger. He feels he is sometimes unjust because of his strong emotional reactions. His idea was to keep a journal and note each person he gets angry with. He then writes down either something to admire and appreciate about that person, something he can do for them, or a prayer for them.

I thought that was a nice and creative approach for Lent that very neatly encompasses the true purpose of the liturgical season. If you have some equally creative practices, I would love to hear about them.

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

Isn’t it strange that when we try to do something by our own power, we fail, but when we ask God to help us, we succeed, even if it is partial … you already know what I’m trying to fast from and how much I’m failing, but I am glad I did for both these wonderful posts.

It is wonderful that you are able to take a class with E and share so much. Your analysis of the song is spot on. God bless you and your beautiful family.

Comment by Vijaya




Leave a Reply

