Little Way of the Family


Spare a Moment Today for St. Joseph, Especially if You are a Dad

With Divine Mercy Sunday falling on May 1 this year, the optional memorial for St. Joseph the Worker is pretty much destined to be optioned out till next year, but if you can, sometime in your busy schedule, spare the foster-father of Jesus a few moments. He is a wonderful example for all who toil, but especially for those of who are dads.
Below is a prayer to St, Joseph the Worker, which I pray each time I sit down at my desk to start my work day. It really helps to keep the ups and downs of “working for a living” in perspective.

Glorious St. Joseph, example for all who are engaged in toil, pray with me please to obtain the grace that I may work in the spirit of penance and so make atonement for my sins. . . that I may work conscientiously, keeping devotion to duty before my personal feelings. . . that I may work with thankfulness and joy, holding it an honor to use and develop by my labor the gifts I have received from almighty God.
Pray with me that I may obtain help to work with order, peace, moderation, and patience-and never shirk duty because of weariness or because of difficulties encountered. . . and that, before all else, I may work with a right intention and with detachment from self, keeping always in mind the hour of my death and the account I must give then for misused time, for neglected talents, and for good not done, and for any foolish pride on my success-a fault so fatal to the work of God.
All for Jesus, all through Mary, all in imitation of you, Joseph most faithful! This shall be my motto in life and death. Amen.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

