Little Way of the Family


9 Ways Raising a Family Increases Your Holiness
March 14, 2011, 3:38 pm
Filed under: Children, Culture, Daily Life, Joyful Christian, Passing on the Faith | Tags: ,

Christ told us to clothe the naked, feed the hungry, give shelter to the homeless. When they are born, our children are naked, hungry, and homeless, and they remain wholly dependent on us.

Paul said that love is patient. No one needs patience more than a parent of a 2-year-old.

Denial of self comes with the territory when you are a parent. I want to work on my book, but instead I am driving a child to ballet. I want to buy a new car, but instead I pay tuition for Catholic school. I want to get some sleep, but instead I soothe a sick child. And for some grace-filled reason, I don’t resent it.

God said to be fruitful and multiply. Can’t do that without a family.

Christ’s first miracle took place at a wedding. Think that’s a coincidence?

The Holy Family is the ultimate example of sanctity. All we have to do is follow.

When I teach my kids about the faith, they ask me questions I never thought of. And they won’t accept a non-answer.

Christ said, “Let the little children come to me.” So when we bring our kids to Mass, we are doing His bidding.

Christ said to have the faith of a child. What better way to learn to love God like a child than to watch how our children love us? With simplicity, trust, and no preconditions. Just try finding unconditional love anywhere else.

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

[…] Read more: 9 Ways Raising a Family Increases Your Holiness « Little Way of … […]

Pingback by 9 Ways Raising a Family Increases Your Holiness « Little Way of … | Mike Spieles on Parenting Today




Leave a Reply

