Little Way of the Family


Children and Bible Verses
December 8, 2010, 2:33 am
Filed under: Children, Passing on the Faith, The Bible

My 3 year old son came home from pre-school today quoting John 3:16. Perfectly. (Yes, it is a Protestant pre-school.) He learned this in one 3 hour school “day”. It floored me. (And gave a booster shot to my fatherly pride.) He is already pretty good with the standard prayers. I am thinking about instituting a family bible verse of the week. (I don’t think I can match him!)
My knowledge of the bible is good, but it doesn’t include knowing where the quotes are. It also doesn’t include getting them exactly right, but with the plethora of translations that is less critical, I think.
I am thinking of originating with this one:
John 6:53 Jesus said to them, “Amen, amen, I say to you, unless you eat the flesh of the Son of Man and drink his blood, you do not have life within you.”
The center of our worship is the Eucharist, Christ Himself. We really ought to have memorized his commands regarding that.

Jesus, please help me to teach my children the Word of God. Please grant me the wisdom to pass on the faith in ways that will plant it deep, so that they may be sustained by it their entire lives. Please send down Your Spirit to make my faith strong that I might share it well.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

